Farrington Daniels Award

Presented since 1975, this is the premier world award for outstanding intellectual leadership in the field of Solar Energy. Winners have an established & long-standing international reputation and have made significant contributions to the work and goals of ISES. The winner is invited to deliver an address at the ISES Solar World Congress. See the full list of recipients here.

2015 Recipient

ISES is very pleased to present this prestigious award to Prof. Richard Perez.

Prof. Perez is a Research Professor at the University at Albany’s Atmospheric Sciences Research Center, where he directs applied research and teaches in the fields of solar radiation, and solar energy applications, and day-lighting. Two of his noted contributions to the field of solar energy are: Identifying the potential of photovoltaic power generation to meet the electrical power demand of large cities in nontraditional solar regions such as the north-eastern United States and the development solar radiation models, which have been incorporated in standard solar energy and day-lighting calculation practice around the world.

View the press release in PDF format

2013 Recipient

The 2013 Recipient of the Farrington Daniels Award is Prof. Aldo Steinfeld of the ETH Zurich Institute of Technology in Switzerland for his work as a leading scholar and outstanding contributions to the fundamentals of high-temperature/high-flux solar technology. He is widely recognized for his pioneering research on solar concentrating systems for clean fuels production. He has been the catalyst behind the international initiative to use concentrated solar radiation for performing high-temperature thermochemical processes. He has been at the mainstream both in terms of fundamental research and innovative applications.

Prof. Steinfeld gave the Farrington Daniels Lecture at the Solar World Congress 2013.